FR-44 Car Insurance
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
UPDATED: Aug 17, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- You can only get FR-44 in two states
- FR-44 is not car insurance
- Your car insurance rates will increase with FR-44 attached
Did you know FR-44 car insurance isn’t insurance? Many people know FR-44 as “FR-44 auto insurance” or “FR44 insurance.”
But why would you need FR-44? Keep reading to find out why some drivers are required to have FR-44, how it affects car insurance rates, and where you can buy cheap car insurance.
After you learn everything about FR-44 car insurance, enter your ZIP code in the free online quote tool above to compare multiple companies near you.
How does FR-44 car insurance work?
Despite having insurance in its name, FR-44 isn’t insurance. FR-44 (also known as FR44 and FR 44) is a certification of financial responsibility (CFR). It proves that a driver carries the minimum level of auto insurance required by state insurance laws.
When is FR-44 certification required? If you’ve been convicted of DUI or DWI, only Florida and Virginia state law require that you get FR-44.
Florida and Virginia motorists who are also caught driving without a license due to a DUI conviction or cause bodily injury while driving under the influence are also required to get FR-44.
Only car insurance companies can file FR-44 to your state’s department of motor vehicles, so you cannot get FR-44 without an auto insurance policy.
Where can you get FR-44? Scroll down to learn more about where to buy FR-44 car insurance and how much it costs.
How does FR-44 affect car insurance rates?
FR-44 certification filing costs between $15 and $25 depending on where you live. However, several factors will determine whether affordable FR-44 car insurance is available to you, including your age and gender.
Coverage level will also impact your FR-44 car insurance rates. Since FR-44 demands higher coverage levels, you’ll pay more per month in premiums.
Consider this — on average, you can get liability-only coverage for $144/mo ($1,728/yr) in Florida and $96/mo ($1,152/yr) in Virginia. If you are required to carry FR-44, you’ll pay at least 49% more for auto insurance.
Be aware that Florida drivers are required to pay FR-44 car insurance in full. State law does not allow monthly payments for FR-44 insurance. Virginia, however, doesn’t have this law, and drivers are allowed to enroll in a payment plan program.
Insurance companies consider drivers with FR-44 certification to be high-risk and will charge higher rates. To get the cheapest FR-44 car insurance rates, you should shop around with multiple companies to which offers you the best FR-44 car insurance quotes.
What if I can’t afford FR-44 car insurance?
Don’t panic. There’s a way to find an FR-44 car insurance company with affordable rates. Research your car insurance by state to get an idea of what you should be paying for coverage, then shop around with auto insurance companies in your local area to see which is offering the best policy at the best price.
Where can I get FR-44 certification?
FR-44 car insurance is only available in Florida and Virginia. Other states do not require FR-44.
FR-44 coverage limits will vary based on state insurance laws and requirements and can impact how much you pay for FR-44 insurance. Here are the FR-44 requirements for Florida and Virginia:
FR-44 Insurance Florida Requirements:
- $100,000 for injury or death to one person
- $300,000 for injury or death of multiple people
- $50,000 for property damage liability
FR-44 Insurance Virginia Requirements:
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to one person
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death of multiple people
- $40,000 for property damage liability
These are the minimum requirements for an FR-44 driver, but you may be required to carry more coverage based on the terms of your car loan or your driving record.
You can buy FR-44 auto insurance from any high-risk car insurance company in your area, but remember that your insurance quotes will vary. Shop around and compare FR-44 insurance quotes from multiple companies near you before you buy to lock in the best rates.
Can I get FR-44 without a car?
The short answer is yes. FR-44 insurance without a vehicle is the same as non-owner car insurance.
However, high-risk non-owner auto insurance is more expensive than standard insurance, so expect to pay more for coverage if you need FR-44 without a car.
What’s the difference between SR-22 car insurance and FR-44 car insurance?
SR-22 certification is like FR-44, but SR-22 only requires you to carry the minimum requirements. FR-44 demands high-risk drivers to have double the minimum coverage limits.
Here’s a list of reasons why you may need SR-22 or FR-44:
|3 Reasons Why You Need SR-22 Car Insurance||3 Reasons Why You Need FR-44 Car Insurance|
|Driving with a suspended driver's license||Causing injury while driving under the influence|
|Receiving a citation for failing to maintain the minimum car insurance requirements||Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs|
|You've been convicted of serious driving violations like reckless driving||Driving with a revoked driver's license due to a conviction|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
While SR-22 is for high-risk drivers, it’s not as nearly as expensive as FR-44.
Also, SR-22 certification is found in most states. FR-44 is limited to Florida and Virginia.
Can I cancel FR-44 car insurance?
The short answer is no. Once you have FR-44, you’ll need to hold on to it for at least three years. If your auto insurance company determines that you’re still a high-risk driver, you’ll have to enroll in FR-44 again.
FR-44 Car Insurance: What’s the bottom line?
FR-44 is attached to high-risk car insurance. And high-risk drivers have more expensive auto insurance rates. But there’s a way to get affordable car insurance.
Before you buy FR-44 car insurance, use our free online quote tool to compare the best insurance companies in your area.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How Much Does Car Insurance Cost?
- Cheap Car Insurance: Myth or Reality?
- Will a Speeding Ticket Raise My Car Insurance Rates?
- Car Insurance Rates 2018: Why are Prices Increasing?
- How Much Does Car Insurance Cost for a 16 Year Old?
- Which Cars are Cheapest to Insure?
- Does a Teenager with a Learner’s Permit Need to be Listed on my Policy?
- View All Coverage Questions
Popular Rate Quotes
- Toyota Corolla Insurance
- Nissan Rogue Insurance
- Ford F-150 Insurance
- Honda CR-V Insurance
- Honda Civic Insurance
- Volkswagen Jetta Insurance
- Toyota Rav4 Insurance
- Honda Accord Insurance
- Dodge Ram Insurance
Compare Rates and Save
Find companies with the cheapest rates in your area